HomeAbout UsProfile & History

Profile & History

Qld Quilters Inc. began as an informal group on 29th March 1984 and was incorporated on 16 August 1988. We now have over 400 individual members and 54 affiliated groups from all over Queensland.

Over the years we have met at various locations and now call Wellers Hill Bowls Club (Tarragindi) our home for our monthly meetings and our library. We also meet at various locations in Brisbane southern suburbs for our Special Interest Groups and Workshops.

We hold our annual Quilt Show in October each year as part of Expertise Events Craft & Quilt Fair. This is one of Australia’s largest quilt shows with a prize pool of over $25,000.

In 2017 we are hosting the inaugural QuiltConnect – connecting quilters from our Affiliated Groups across Queensland and providing them with the opportunity to display their inspirational quilts in this exciting new quilt show.

In 2017 we are sponsoring the Best of Show Award at the Quilts Across Queensland Quilt Competition staged by the RNA in Brisbane.

We have two annual travelling exhibitions, our members Challenge and SoTAq (State of the Art Quilts). These juged competitions travel around the state and country to interested groups and galleries.

We also have three special interest groups. 2QAQ our art Quilters, 2QMod our Modern Quilters & 2QApp our Applique & Hand piecing group. These are social groups where members can meet fellow members, share their love of quilting and learn new techniques and hand tips.

If you would like further information about Queensland Quilters please contact us.

Presidents of Qld Quilters Inc.

Years Name
 1984 – 1985  Inari Thiel
 1985 – 1987  Jenny Riley
 1987 – 1988  Anne Whitsed
 1988 – 1990  June Oliver
 1990 – 1992  Laura Rohricht
 1992 – 1993  Fay Foster
 1993 – 1994  Jan T Urquhart
 1994 – 1996  Lyn Barber
 1996 – 1997  Ruth Fleming
 1997 – 1999  Wendy Brittain
 1999 – 2001  Dawn Toomey
 2001 – 2003  Sue Duffy
 2003 – 2004  Barbara Harvey
 2004 – 2007  Kim Boland
 2007 – 2009  Kate Oszko
 2009 – 2013  Kim Boland
 2013 – 2015  Lyn Crump
 2015 –  Judie Bellinghan